GAME OF LIES EPISODE 5

NICE TO HAVE YOU HERE ONCE AGAIN. PLEASE KINDLY LEAVE YOUR COMMENTS ON THIS POST AS THEY ARE HIGHLY APPRECIATED. DO TAKE TIME TO LIKE OUR FACEBOOK PAGE STORY ISLAND, AND FOLLOW US ON TWITTER @adeblogs. 

 

Episode 5,

 

*Josh*

I walked down the hallway hoping that my decision to join the school’s sprint team would not end up being a disaster. The school boasted a set of strong sprinters. “Hey! Watch were you’re going.” An angry girl screamed at me. I had hit her unknowingly.
“I’m pretty sorry.” I quickly replied trying to avoid any more noise to prevent a scene. “I’m Josh. Joshua.” I said stretching my hand towards her. She looked into my eyes and then down at my hand before taking it. “I’m Dakore.” She replied.
“Oh! You’ve got a nice name.” I said looking for a way to start a conversation. “Thanks.” She replied with a rather stern voice. “Hey! I’ve said am sorry.” I said not really happy about her reaction.
“No its not you.” She stated. “OK. Wanna talk about it?” I asked rather carefully.
“It’s my boyfriend. He’s been acting funny these days. Last Friday he left me standing in the sun for hours. He keeps lying about everything.” She rambled. I knew I had to say something. I could feel her pain through her complaint.
“if it’s so painful, why not leave him?” I stated out of the anger that built up in me as she continued complaining. She stared at me. “Yes. Stop hurting yourself and get it over with.” I continued.
“But I love him.” She said slowly. “Love is meant to be reciprocal. But in this case, I don’t think it is.” I said cutting her short. “You might love him but his actions don’t speak his love for you.” I said putting my hand on her shoulder.
“That’s true.” She mumbled. “How do you end this sort of relationship?” She asked. I was rather surprised. At this stage? You should know how to end a relationship.
“Ending a relationship is like getting off a blood sucking leech, you just have to pull it and get it over with.” I said feeling like a boss.
“Sorry I’m going to have to take my leave now. Training is in ten minutes and I wouldn’t want to be late.” I said pulling my kit bag up as I rose to my feet.

*Seyi*
“Hey Hikmar.” I greeted as I stumbled on him coming out of coach’s office. “Hey dude. What’s that in your hand?” He asked. “The friendly match schedule for our preparation.” I replied handing it over to him.
“Nice fixtures, so we are playing HSASS from Nigeria as well.” He stated with his gaze fixed on the paper.
“Why didn’t we see you at training on Friday?” I asked pulling the paper out of his hand.
“Can’t you have a little courtesy?” He said eyeing me. “Please tell me when you transformed into a lady.” I teased surprised at the speed at which he moved his eyeballs.
“See that girl Sandra.” He said pointing towards her direction. “So?” She was at our training on Friday. She’s been gathering news every here and there,
“Let’s take a stroll outside.” I suggested. We walked on past where Sandra was busy with her interview with one of the coaches.
“What’s this?” I asked as we walked over to the vendor. “Auckland news. It’s about the developments in the school ahead of the NCSC.” He replied. “Let’s get a copy.” Hikmar said stretching some cash to the vendor.
‘I FEEL THE PRESSURE: ATHELETE TRISHA ANDERSON CONFESSES.’ Was the headline. “Trisha… Trisha. She was up for 100m and 200m last time out right.” I asked. “Yes.” Hikmar replied pointing where it was stated in the newspaper to me.
“Check this out.” He stated.
‘DOES CAPTAIN SEYI OLAWALE DESERVE TO LEAD AUCKLAND FC TO THE NCSC?’ I read out loud. I stared at Hikmar.
Music of Keith Urban’s cop car played from my phone. I checked the caller. It was coach.
“Hey dude, it’s time for training.” I said running off into the sports complex expecting Hikmar to outpace me. I entered into the dressing room and still there were no signs of Hikmar.

*David*
It was the second time we were training but that day was more special. “Give me 5 more laps.” Coach screamed through his megaphone. The other sprinters increased their acceleration prompting me to do the same.
That day, we held training with the female sprinters.
I slowly came to a halt at the end of my fifth lap of jugging. “Take a breath.” Coach instructed. Whenever he said such, it meant he wanted us to rest. I walked over to where the ladies were seated.
“Look over there.” One of them said pointing towards my left. “That should be?” I asked looking back at her. “Trisha.” She replied.
“Why is she sitting alone?” I asked getting curious. “Why not go and find out yourself.” The lady stated.
I staggered to where Trisha was seated. “Why are you seated alone?” I asked as I walked up to her. She maintained her silence.
“Can I seat here?” I asked again. She moved a little still maintaining her silence. I took my seat.
I stared at the beauty that I sat next to, I felt something overwhelming. She faced down now. Playing with the track.
“Great men and women in athletics have at one time or the other hit lows.” I started. “But resilience and determination have led to their success stories.” She looked at me then back down at the tracks.
“On this ground one of college’s fastest will soon do battle. But fear not. In as much as defeat came last time out, that doesn’t mean the same will occur now.” I concluded looking away.
“Sometimes, the shadows of the past can be felt by the present.” She mumbled fixing her gaze on the tracks.
I looked at her unsure of what to say next. “Thanks for the advice.” She said looking up at me.
“My pleasure.” I replied. “You know sometimes you should relax. Jane was out on a date yesterday. You should go on one too.” I uttered looking straight into her eyes.
“How about this evening say 7pm?” I asked. “No problem. She replied in a subtle tone. “Then I’ll pick you up.” I stated standing to my feet.

One thought on “GAME OF LIES EPISODE 5

  1. Why is it that I don’t get update from u naa, even tho’ I subscribed. U av posted dis since Sept. and I’m just getting to read it. That’s unfair o…anyways, a job well done, keep it up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

